Show reviews that mention
bill national grid rate door people town square grid electric bill billing money
Filter review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Town Square Energy cost more per kwh than National grid

You will NOT save money switching from National Grid to Town Square Energy in Massachusetts. Buyer beware you will end up paying more for your electricity.
View full review
ID
#2434240 Review #2434240 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Town Square Energy Electricity Supply
Cons
  • Overcharge for electicity
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Price reduction

A bad company misleads consumers

Town Square policy misleads customers with its option to choose their supplier. Up until last year, there was a 2-week window for changing to a supplier with a more competitive rate. Now I ve been told that any change of supplier must be put in place within 2-3 billing cycles of the existing contract. The catch is that most suppliers require a commitment of a 4-6 months contract and any request to switch sooner involves a $50 cancellation fee. Town Square has out its customers over a barrel with the result that they never know of a good time to switch. I have ended up sticking with the Town Square energy supply rate; no surprise that this Town Square standard rate is the highest out there. Town Square should do better than this for its customers.
View full review
ID
#1780151 Review #1780151 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Dorchester, Massachusetts
Service
Town Square Energy Sales Representative

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Do Not Use

I signed up for a fixed rate plan, first 2 months were at the agreed upon rate, next two months were at a significantly higher rate (despite being locked in to the lower rate plan). It took multiple calls to get sorted out, meanwhile I am out of pocket the extra $$ and have to wait 6-8 weeks (on top of the two billing periods) to get my money back - if that even happens!
View full review
1 comment
#1839379

You did a phone call where they reviewed plan details and agreed it is recorded, don’t go out of your way to look like a idiot

ID
#1703239 Review #1703239 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Town Square Energy Electricity Supply
Cons
  • Sneaky sobs that pull tricks
Reason of review
Pricing issue
New Reviewer

Unethical scammers that prey on financially Weak

While waiting on my social security i went to my localState of Rhode Island DHS Facility for help with Medical. As I approached the front door of the State Facility there was 2 women taking information from people entering informing them if they need help financially with there Electric Bill that they were there to help. I listened to her tell me that in my time of need that the savings would be hundreds of dollars that all i had to do is say yes to accept the electric plan to the phone recording and i did. REMEMBER STATE PROPERTY OF RHODE ISLAND STATE BLDG. THEY ARE ABSOLUTE CROOKS AND TWICE THE COST OF NATIONAL GRID.
View full review
1 comment
#1839380

You are a liar you heard the plan details when you did the call it’s recorded you scammed yourself

ID
#1692505 Review #1692505 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Town Square Energy Sales Representative
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Nearly twice as much

August 2019 bill over 600. When I called National Grid I was informed that the Town Sq rate is currently 16.3 kw while NG is 9.2. NG will increase to 11 kw Oct 2019, still far below TSq. No more secondary for me.
View full review
ID
#1657415 Review #1657415 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Newark, New Jersey
Service
Town Square Energy Electricity Supply
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Horrid

They don’t call from registered line, and have to be asked everything but reason of calling.
View full review
ID
#1558486 Review #1558486 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Town Square Energy Misleading and unethical

I was promised by representatives that my rate would never be more than National Grid. Turns out it was almost double. T. S. E. Reps were rude and no help. Lost over $300 by switching. STAY AWAY!!!
View full review
ID
#1554638 Review #1554638 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chandler, Arizona
Service
Town Square Energy Sales Representative
New Reviewer

Scammers

Update by user Jan 09, 2019

We got a call back from Town Square , they agreed to re-rate the electric bill to the rate we expected and send us a Visa card in that amount $42.00 . That was about 3 weeks ago we have not yet received the Visa Card

Original review posted by user Dec 10, 2018
I signed up mid September to switch. I figured by November it would go through, I was mistaken called was told Definitely change and rate would be reflected in the Dec billing . Dec bill still not the correct rate . Supervisor refused to credit the account . Needless to say I’ll be switching
View full review
ID
#1420067 Review #1420067 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hartford, Connecticut
Service
Town Square Energy Customer Care
New Reviewer

They are *** snakes

They tricked us into signing up by saying AEP owes people money. Our electric bill got super high and we been paying both places to keep our electric on. They had to pay us a check for not even close to what we paid out and we still have to pay over $600. We can't even get the check cashed anywhere. DO NOT LET THEM TRICK YOU THEY ARE SCAMMERS!!!!! THEY STAND OUTSIDE BUSINESSES AND LIE TO PEOPLE! THEN WHEN YOU SIGN YOU SIGN UP TO PAY TO ELECTRIC BILLS AND AEP GIVES THEM THE MONEY YOU PAY ON YOUR AEP BILL SMH. It's ridiculous and they need to be shut down. AEP shouldn't be giving them anything at all!! They are helping them scam people. We have no choice but to pay because we need our electric of course.
View full review
ID
#1308866 Review #1308866 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Columbus, Ohio
Service
Town Square Energy Electricity Supply
Reason of review
they are scammers. they lied to take our money
Loss
$400
Preferred solution
I want the money refunded to AEP
New Reviewer

Resolved: Stopped Billing for months just as they jacked up the rate.

Update by user Oct 13, 2018

Refund was issues for the amount overcharged over the period of time that the rate changed.

Update by user Oct 13, 2018

EDIT-Update: So after a few months i got a refund for the overcharges in the form of a check in the mail. I have to give them credit for reaching out to me after i posted bad reviews and sorting this out.

It seems like a it was all a billing system snafu and they did eventually correct it.

So i will take back any theories that they planned to do this, but still cant give them a great rating because this all happened in the first place and it should have been solved without me having to complain on public posts. In the future have your frontline staff offer to take the complaint and have it reviewed and promise follow up.

Update by user Jul 19, 2018

They have reached out to me and offered to set my rate back to what it was for the time period. But I will be waiting to I actually see a credit before changing my rating.

Original review posted by user Jun 19, 2018
So i had a 4 month agreement with them and after the 4 months were up they jacked up the price.. sounds fair. Till you don't get the bill with charges until 3 months later because for 3 months they stopped sending billing information to PECO and then hit me all at once with 3 months of charges that then ends up being 4 months of 2x the original rate by the time cutting over kicks in. Called to complain and they offered me a 20$ amazon gift card after they stole over 200$ with inflated rates. I get getting hit with 1 or 2 billing cycles after the rate gets jacked up. But what they did was actively hid this issue for as long as they could so they could take as much money as possible out of you.
View full review
Resolved
ID
#1283714 Review #1283714 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Town Square Energy Customer Care
Pros
  • You can drop them
Cons
  • Sneaky sobs that pull tricks
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Electric supply

I am so happy to get help from Townsquare with my huge electric bill w/Eversource constantly raising my rates!
View full review
ID
#1207913 Review #1207913 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Good customer service

Why I cannot reachTown Square Energy

For the pass few months, my electricity bill has been coming sky high. I have been trying to contact Town Square Energy to cancel my account, I couldn't reach to anyone.
View full review
ID
#1205491 Review #1205491 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Town Square Energy Electricity Supply
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Scam Artists, law breakers, and liars

Yes. They, basically, broke into our condo complex tonight, and went door to door threatening people. They were swearing and yelling at people. They are bad news. Lied and said they were Eversource. Rang everyone's buzzers lying that they were Eversource and needed to get into the building to "service" the building. They acted like gang members. Had to call police police. They ran through the entire building. They trespassed on private property and would not leave. Said they had a "permit" to be there and we could call the police all we wanted. Very intimidating, threatening, "rough", and would not leave our private residence.
View full review
ID
#1200942 Review #1200942 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
So this guy claiming to be Henry from Town Square Energy knocked on our door on a friday at 6:30 at night wanting to discuss our energy bill. He claimed we had ignored the three memoes the company had sent us. He said he would keep coming to our home until we complied....
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1399338

This guy just came to my house now. Henry.

I lied claiming I didn't actually live here and ask for a business card, at which point he scribbled his information on a piece of paper that was all ripped up.

He gave us the same spiel. He also commented on the Partiers upstairs being hot as *** Then while he was writing his business card to me, he apologized for smelling like a skunk claiming he had a huge amount of *** in his pocket

ID
#1129431 Review #1129431 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Town Square Energy Sales Representative
Reason of review
Poor customer service

More scamming by town square

He flashed the eversource paperwork on his clip board when he came to my door and even though I was busy it was hard to get rid of him first time. He said he was not trying to switch my supplier just give me a discounted rate on my eversouce bill. I told him to come back in thirty minutes since I had also received an automated call that I swear stated they were from eversource and wanted to give me a discount if I pressed 1 which I did not - called back the number and of course no service - caller id said service department (lol)...BUT maybe this was legit. He came back in about 15 and I asked who he was with. Then he pulls out his Town Square badge. He also tells me of 2 neighbors who signed up. I said so you're trying to switch my rates. He said no, just give you a discount. I said well Eversource is my supplier and I do not want to switch my supplier if that's what you're trying to do. He told me that since I never switched suppliers I would not be switching since I never switched to start with. What? Also that Eversource did not supply electricity anymore. I said I did not want to switch as I would lose my rate with Eversource and be stuck with variable rate after that if I went back to Eversource. He said that their rates were all variable - I said no they are set for 6 months at a time. He proceeded to claim that was variable and he said that the rate changes every month in that 6 month set rate which is not true. The guy was totally talking smack. He seemed to believe what he was saying. I guess that is key. Scam artist plus does not know what he's talking about when he thinks he's telling the truth. I said I wanted to call eversource, he said great it's 4:52 there's still time. I said I will call them and get back to the company then he claimed the only way to switch was with the door to door people who might not be back! He said look them up on the eversource site as a recommended supplier and the funny thing is they're not there when I look. What a waste of my time!
View full review
ID
#1128904 Review #1128904 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Town Square Energy Sales Representative
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article